2017 Vitality Superleague Ins and Outs

2017 Vitality Superleague Ins and Outs
Spread the love

The upcoming season of the Vitality Superleague promises to be one of the most exciting yet, and we are keeping tabs on all the moves as the squads are finalised.

With three new franchises and team rosters trimmed from 15 to 12 players, the new Superleague season should be more competitive than ever when it gets underway in February.

With coaching changes, new directors of netball and a whole host of player announcements, we have put together an Ins and Outs guide as preparations for the new season draw ever closer.

Scottish Sirens, Severn Stars and Wasps Netball are all building from scratch and have hit the ground running while two-time defending champions Surrey Storm have players to replace and a title to defend.

Manchester Thunder and Hertfordshire Mavericks will hope to finally get over the barrier having come so close in recent seasons.

And Team Bath and Loughborough Lightning are looking to push on while Celtic Dragons and Team Northumbria will look to improve on last season’s showings.

Here’s how the squads are shaping up ahead of the 2017 season…


Coaching team  Trish Wilcox

Players In  Stacey Peeters (Southern Steel, NZ), Kalifa McCollin (Trinidad & Tobago), Suzy Drane, Kelly Morgan, Kyra Jones, Sara Bell, Bethan Dyke, Eleanor Roberts (returning), Fern Davies, Lydia Hitchings, Leila Thomas and Lois Rideout

Players Out – Becky Oatley (Severn Stars), Georgia Rowe (Team Northumbria)


Former Southern Stings coach Robyn Broughton will lead the Mavericks into the new season

Coaching team – Robyn Broughton (Director of Netball, Head Coach), Kat Ratnapala (Assistant Coach), Camilla Buchanan (Assistant Coach)

Players In Lindsay Keable, Sophie Hankin, Summer Artman, Michelle Drayne, Vicklyn Joseph (all returning), Ashleigh Neal (Demons, Aus), Keshia Grant (NZ), Rose Morgan-Smith (-), Sophie Drakeford-Lewis, Razia Quashie (both Surrey Storm NPL), Zara Everitt, Halimat Adio (both Hertfordshire Mavericks NPL)

Players Out Sam May, George Fisher (Wasps), Layla Guscoth (Team Bath), Sophie Carter (Severn Stars), Vicky Oyesola (Loughborough Lightning)


Coaching team – Karen Atkinson (Head Coach), Olivia Murphy (Assistant Coach), Maggie Birkinshaw (Assistant Coach)

Players In – Peace Proscovia, Natalie Panagarry, Hannah Joseph, Rebekah Airey, Brittany Coleman, Lauren Nicholls, Jo Trip and Vanessa Walker (all returning), Vicky Oyesola (Hertfordshire Mavericks), Beth Cobden (-), Ella Gibbons (-), Chloe Essam.

Players Out – Ama Agbeze (Adelaide Thunderbirds), Kadeen Corbin (Mainland Tactix)


Coaching team – Karen Greig (Director of Netball), Sara Hale (Assistant Coach), Liana Leota (assistant coach)

Players In Gabriella Marshall, Kathryn Turner, Amy Clinton, Kerry Almond, Emma Dovey, Liana Leota, Paige Kindred and Beccy Hoult (all returning), Bea Skingsley, (Yorkshire Jets), Sophie Morgan (Surrey Storm), Dani Bloomfield (-), Marvadene Anderson (Jamaica)

Players Out Natalie Haythornthwaite (Wasps Netball), Jodie Gibson (Severn Stars), Sara Bayman (Central Pulse, NZ), Laura Malcolm (Severn Stars), Eleanor Cardwell (Severn Stars), Helen Housby (NSW Swifts)


Coaching team – Gail Parata (Head Coach)

Players In – Savannah Antoine, Carla Borrego, Claire Brownie, Althea Byfield, Rachel Forbes, Lynsey Gallagher, Bethan Goodwin, Ellen Halpenny, Nicola McCleery, Fiona Moore-McGrath, Caroline O’Hanlon, Lauren Tait.

SEVERN STARS (New Franchise)

Coaching team Pamela Cookey (Director of Netball), Mo’onia Gerrard (Head Coach), Sam Bird (Assistant Coach)

Players In Jodie Gibson (Manchester Thunder), Eleanor Cardwell (Manchester Thunder), Laura Malcolm (Manchester Thunder), Sophie Carter (Hertfordshire Mavericks), Becky Oatley (Celtic Dragons), Rachel Sweet (Loughborough Lightning), Lucy Richardson (Yorkshire Jets), Afiesha Noel (Trinidad & Tobago), Josie Janz-Dawson (West Coast Fever), Iona Darroch, Lauren Brookes and Rebecca Tildsley.


Coaching team Tania Hoffman (Director of Netball)

Players In – Mikki Austin, Katy Holland, Georgia Lees and Yasmin Parsons (returning)

Players Out Sophia Candappa, Amy Flanagan, Josie Huckle, Hannah Reid, Francesca Williams, Rachel Dunn, Bogini Msomi (all Wasps)


Layla Guscoth is swapping Hertfordshire Mavericks for Team Bath

Coaching team – Anna Stembridge (Head Coach)

Players In – Rachel Shaw, Eboni Beckford-Chambers, Samantha Cook, Chelsea Lewis, Paige Reed, Mia Ritchie, Laura Rudland (all returning), Layla Guscoth (Herts Mavericks), Jess Shaw and Imogen Allison (Yorkshire Jets), Vangalee Williams (Jamaica)


Coaching team – Te Aroha Keenan (Head Coach)

Players In –  Brie Grierson, Emily Hollingworth, Tuanie Keenan, Leah Kennedy, Chiara Semple Jaydene Robinson (all returning), Georgia Rowe (Celtic Dragons), Rachel Bird (-), Evie Brereton (-), Claudia Heath (-)

Players Out

WASPS NETBALL (New Franchise)

Coaching team – Tamsin Greenway (Director of Netball), Mel Mansfield (Assistant Coach)

Players In Sophia Candappa, Amy Flanagan, Josie Huckle, Hannah Reid, Francesca Williams (all Surrey), Sam May, George Fisher (Herts Mavericks), Lucy Harris (Yorkshire Jets), Natalie Haythornthwaite (Manchester Thunder), Rachel Dunn (Surrey Storm), Bogini Msomi (Surrey Storm), Lucy Parize

Leave a comment