Dublin and Mayo stars in vanguard for GAA All-Star football awards

Dublin and Mayo stars in vanguard for GAA All-Star football awards
Spread the love

Dublin’s Brian Fenton (right) is in the running for the player of the year award

All-Ireland finalists Dublin and Mayo lead the way with 11 nominations each in the 45-man shortlist for the GAA All-Star football awards.

Dublin’s back-to-back winning captain Stephen Cluxton is nominated having missed out last year, while Brian Fenton is among the three player of the year nominees alongside team-mate Ciarán Kilkenny and Mayo’s Lee Keegan. 

Tipperary, who sprung a huge surprise in making the last four, are rewarded with five nominations with the outstanding Michael Quinlivan leading the way. 

The victorious Dublin team have 11 nominations in total

Defeated finalists Mayo have had six defenders nominated, while midfielder Gary Brennan becomes the first Clare footballer to be nominated for an All-Star since 1997.

In all, the breakdown of the eight counties represented is Dublin 11; Mayo 11; Tyrone 6; Tipperary 5; Kerry 4; Galway 4; Donegal 3; Clare 1.

The Young Player of the Year will be decided between Mayo’s Diarmuid O’Connor and Tipperary’s Josh Keane and Jimmy Feehan.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, 4 November.


1. Evan Comerford (Tipperary) 2. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin) 3. David Clarke (Mayo)


1. Jonny Cooper (Dublin) 2. Brendan Harrison (Mayo) 3. Keith Higgins (Mayo) 4. Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin) 5. Lee Keegan (Mayo) 6. Colm Boyle (Mayo) 7. Philly McMahon (Dublin) 8. Ryan McHugh (Donegal) 9. Cathal McCarron (Tyrone) 10. John Small (Dublin) 11. Patrick Durcan (Mayo) 12. Shane Enright (Kerry) 13. Declan Kyne (Galway) 14. James McCarthy (Dublin) 15. Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo) 16. Paddy McGrath (Donegal) 17. Robbie Kiely (Tipperary) 18. Killian Young (Kerry)

Michael Quinlivan is one of five players from Tipperary who have been recognised


1. Brian Fenton (Dublin) 2. Peter Acheson (Tipperary) 3. Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone) 4. Gary Brennan (Clare) 5. Paul Conroy (Galway) 6. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)


1. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin) 2. Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin) 3. Dean Rock (Dublin) 4. Kevin McManamon (Dublin) 5. Paul Geaney (Kerry) 6. Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary) 7. Andy Moran (Mayo) 8. Conor Sweeney (Tipperary) 9. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo) 10. Paul Murphy (Kerry) 11. Cillian O’Connor (Mayo) 12. Damien Comer (Galway) 13. Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo) 14. Peter Harte (Tyrone) 15. Danny Cummins (Galway) 16. Patrick McBrearty (Donegal) 17. Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone) 18. Niall Sludden (Tyrone)

Player of the Year Nominees

1. Brian Fenton (Dublin) 2. Lee Keegan (Mayo) 3. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

Young Player of the Year Nominees

1. Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo) 2. Josh Keane (Tipperary) 3. Jimmy Feehan (Tipperary)

You can watch Premier League football, Champions Cup Rugby and the Japan Grand Prix on Sportsclubsociety. Upgrade now and enjoy three months at half price!

Leave a comment